The MSU Extension Office in Teton County would like to recognize 4-H members in the class of 2017.  Six young people completed their years as youth in the 4-H program as they graduate from high school. The 4-H Seniors are Katelyn Antonsen, Connor Crary, Maria Murnane, Claire Ruckman, Kylee Ruckman, and Annie Townsend.

Katelyn Antonsen assists a young 4-H camper (Photo: Jane Wolery)

Katelyn Antonsen, 19, of Choteau, a senior at Choteau High School, has been honored for her exemplary volunteer service with a President’s Volunteer Service Award and Certificate of Excellence.

The award, which recognizes Americans of all ages who have volunteered significant amounts of their time to serve their communities and their country, was granted by The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program on behalf of the President’s Council on Service and Civic Participation.

Katelyn has been in 4-H for 6 years and is a member of the Old Agency club.  The daughter of Ray and Susan, she has been reporter, Treasurer and President of her club as well as President of the Teton County 4-H Council.  She also served as President and coordinator for the food drive and participated in 4-H Exchange, hosting and being hosted by a family from Tennessee.

Katelyn helped with highway clean-up, made valentines for nursing home residents and volunteered for 4-H club fundraisers such as serving at the shrimp peel and working the rodeo concessions.  In addition to these 4-H club activities, Katelyn has helped serve dinner at the Rescue Mission, helped other Friends of Rachel organize a hot cocoa social, cooked and served breakfast at church to raise money for charity, worked concessions at school to raise money for the drama department, donated blood and worked at blood drives, hung and took down flags with FCCLA for Veterans’ Day, helped set up and organize the letterman dinner for Speech and Drama and took photos for the yearbook during sporting events.

Annie teaching a Cloverbud member sewing skills at a 4-H Project Day. (Photo: Jane Wolery)

Annie Townsend, 17, of Vaughn, a senior at Fairfield High School, has been honored for her exemplary volunteer service with a President’s Volunteer Service Award. Annie has been in 4-H for 11 years and is a member of the Eager Eagles club.  The daughter of Pete and Tammy Townsend, she has been secretary and vice president of her club as well as vice president of the Teton County 4-H Council.  She has also served as a 4-H Ambassador for Teton County.

Annie taught a workshop on making tote bags which were then donated to Child Protective Services and taught another workshop on sewing hand warmers which were donated to a local nursing home.  She has volunteered with Special Olympics, donated blood and even donated her hair.

Annie is also the recipient of the Anne Wiprud Memorial Scholarship. The memorial is in recognition of Extension Agent Anne Wiprud who was an agent in Teton County at the time of a tragic car accident in 1986.The scholarship is awarded based on interest earned on the memorial account.  This year the scholarship will be $400 and will be awarded to Townsend to help her with her education expenses.

Annie also received the $2,000 Boe Brothers Scholarship.

Leif and Wagner Boe, who farmed in the Fairfield area, left a legacy to youth in this county through their charitable gift and trust.  Each year two scholarships in the amount of $10,000 and $5,000 are given to youth in Teton County who have been active in FFA or 4-H or both, with the scholarship to be used at MSU Bozeman.  Yearly, a scholarship in the amount of $2000 is also given for a student to be used at any other post-secondary learning institute of the recipient’s choice.

Maria Murnane received the $10,000 scholarship for studies at MSU Bozeman.  Her parents are John and Susan Murnane of Choteau.   There were no applicants for the $5000 scholarship.

4-H members often contribute to their communities for decades beyond the years they were enrolled in 4-H, having learned an awareness and appreciation for serving others.