Contact Us

What Fireworks Can You Legally Set Off?

Getty Images

The Fourth of July means good food, parades and fireworks.

Lots of fireworks.

According to the American Pyrotechnic Association, there are 42 states (plus Washington, DC) that allow the general public to handle fireworks, while four — Illinois, Iowa, Ohio, Vermont – only permit novelty items to be lit. A total of four states (Delaware, New Jersey, New York, and Massachusetts) make it illegal for any average joe to handle fireworks.

Laws on fireworks vary from throughout the country, so before you stock up, check out this state-by-state guide from the APA detailing what you can and can’t do. It goes over storage laws, age you can purchase fireworks, licensing fees and more.

Have a safe holiday!


Best of K96 FM

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for K96 FM: Wide Open Country quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Never Miss the Latest News from K96 FM: Wide Open Country.