The Montana 4-H Foundation has announced Watson Snyder, of Choteau, as the recipient of the Cedric and Elfriede Maurer Memorial Scholarship.   This $2500 scholarship, awarded by the Montana 4-H Foundation, was established by the Maurer family to honor their parents, Cedric and Elfriede, who farmed and ranched in Teton County and were long-time 4-H leaders.   The recipient must have a history of volunteering and active involvement in his community.  Snyder’s application was scored on 4-H project work, community service and volunteerism, leadership, life challenges and persona growth, academics, plans and letters of recommendations.  Watson’s application was the outstanding selection from a pool of applicants from across Montana.

Hannah Konen, daughter of Michael and Heidi Konen, is the recipient of the
Anne Wiprud Memorial Scholarship.  Hannah is a member of the Eager Eagles 4-H Club.   She has been involved in a variety of 4-H projects and events throughout the years.  She has served as a 4-H Camp Counselor, attended Montana and National 4-H Congress.

The memorial is in recognition of Extension Agent Anne Wiprud who was an agent in Teton County at the time of a tragic car accident in 1986.The scholarship is generated by interest earned on the memorial account.  This year the scholarship will be $400 and will be awarded to Konen to help her with her education expenses.

The Boe Brothers (Leif and Wagner), who farmed in the Fairfield area, left a legacy to youth in this county through their charitable gift and trust.  Each year two scholarships in the amount of $10,000 and $5,000 are given to youth in Teton County who have been active in FFA, 4-H or both, with the scholarship to be used at MSU Bozeman.  Yearly, a scholarship in the amount of $2000 is also given for a student to be used at any other post-secondary learning institute of the recipient’s choice.

Watson Snyder received the $10,000 scholarship for studies at MSU Bozeman.  His parents are RT and Susan Snyder of Choteau.  Hannah Konen received the $5,000 to MSU Bozeman.  Konen has requested and been granted a one-year deferment on the scholarship as she plans to attend MSU Bozeman in the fall of 2019, following a year in Bozeman at Montana Bible College.  Javy Somerfeld received the $2,000 scholarship, which he plans to combine with football scholarships at Presentation College in Aberdeen, South Dakota, as he studies physical therapy.  He is the son of Dustin Somerfeld and Charla Terry.  His grandparents are Leona and Dave Somerfeld.

Ten Year 4-H Members

The Teton County 4-H Council honored six young people who have invested ten years of their lives to the 4-H program, learning project skills, serving their community and developing leadership skills.  Cassidy DeBruycker, Hannah Konen, Caroline Roeder, Watson Snyder, Javy Somerfeld and Zane Somerfeld were all honored for their 4-H careers. Studies show that 4-H alum have a higher level of service to their communities as adults, having learned an awareness and appreciation for serving others.

4-H Seniors

The MSU Extension Office in Teton County would like to recognize 4-H members in the Class of 2018.  Seven young people will complete their years as youth in the 4-H program this year as high school graduates. The 4-H Seniors are Cassidy DeBruycker, Hannah Konen, Jonathon Moore, Samuel Rammell, Watson Snyder, Javy Somerfeld, and Chuck Willekes.

By Jane Wolery, MSU Extension Teton Co Agent

More From K96 FM