The first award at the 2013 ACM Awards was presented on the red carpet. Jason Aldean and his producer Michael Knox were given the Vocal Event of the Year award for the song 'The Only Way I Know' with Luke Bryan and Eric Church. This is the second year in a row Aldean has won this honor.

"They should re-name it the Aldean Award or something," Aldean joked, holding his trophy. 'The Only Way I Know' is from Aldean's 'Night Train' album. It was his second single from the album to reach No. 1. ACM Chief Executive Officer Bob Romeo introduced the honor on Sunday (April 7) night.

A few minutes later, Romeo surprised Church with his trophy. The more burly-looking singer pointed out that the trio is one for one on awards, before joking that they should probably form a trio since they're no good on their own. His seven nominations and Aldean's nod for Entertainer of the Year would argue otherwise.

Other nominees included Rascal Flatts' 'Easy' with Natasha Bedingfeld, Kenny Chesney's 'Feel Like a Rock Star' with Tim McGraw, David Nail's 'Let It Rain' with Sarah Buxton and Kelly Clarkson's 'Don't Rush' with Vince Gill. Clarkson and Aldean won this honor in 2012 for 'Don't You Wanna Stay.'

More From K96 FM