Luke Combs' "Beautiful Crazy" was named Song of the Year on Wednesday night (Nov. 13), at the 2019 CMA Awards. Each year, the award goes to the songwriters behind the winning track.

"I don't know where to start," a surprised Combs said from stage, before ceding the mic to his co-writers. He did, however, manage to thank "my beautiful fiancee, for being the inspiration behind this song."

Fans first fell in love with Combs' "Beautiful Crazy" upon his release of This One's for You Too, the deluxe reissue of his studio debut, on which it was a newly added track. Even before its official release, the song gained viral fan attention via Combs' live performances of the ballad.

Co-written with Wyatt B. Durrette II and Robert Williford, "Beautiful Crazy" showcases a softer side of a performer typically known for his high-energy, hard-rocking musical style. Combs has said he and his collaborators wrote the tune before he and now-fiancee Nicole Hocking even started dating, and it has become the first in a line of sweet songs inspired by their relationship.

"I think there will always be some sort of that somewhere in my music," Combs reflected. "I think there will always be songs about Nicole on all my records, and I hope they don't get to be too gushy ..."

This year's CMA Song of the Year nominees also included Maren Morris' "Girl" (Morris, Sarah Aarons, Greg Kurstin), Blake Shelton's "God's Country" (Devin Dawson, Jordan Schmidt, Hardy), Kacey Musgraves' "Rainbow" (Musgraves, Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally) and Dan + Shay's "Tequila" (Dan Smyers, Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds).

Unforgettable CMA Awards Controversies

These Country Stars Have the Most CMA Awards

More From K96 FM